Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
w1ldflower

Cultivated plant with palmate leaves, white margins

w1ldflower
9 years ago

I posted this before but wasn't able to get a positive ID. This was growing in a local public garden in fairly dry soil in partial to dappled shade. No sign of flowering or seed production that was obvious. There were a couple of very thin brown shriveled stems emerging near the leaves but I couldn't for certain say they belonged to this plant and not another. Leaves measured ~3-4 inches in diameter with either five or seven leaflets. Leaf margins are white and irregularly toothed. Thanks for any leads!

Comments (14)

• Desirai
    9 years ago

my immediate thought was it looks similar to helleborus, but I'm not an expert on plants I haven't grown.

• aurorawa
    9 years ago

I would agree and say helleborus. The leaves vary greatly in color, size, and some have patterns of different colors. A great plant that blooms late winter through to late spring/early summer. Evergreen and likes shade/light sun.

• thedecoguy
    9 years ago

Potentilla sp

• Iris GW
    9 years ago

Doesn't look like Potentilla to me.

• earline_pa zone 6 Pa.
    9 years ago

I knew I saw this before.

EDIT....Closer look I think I'm wrong :(

Here is a link that might be useful: white edges

This post was edited by earline_pa on Sat, Aug 23, 14 at 9:59

• w1ldflower
    Original Author
    9 years ago