Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alvan_gw

What plant is this and what is the upkeep for it?

Alvan
10 years ago

I was wondering what plant is in the pic (the one zoomed in) I know his is probably a 101 question b/c I see these bushes everywhere, but I'm a newbie :) I'm wondering what plant it is and what care it needs. I worry that they will get too big-they are planted next to Asparagus ferns that are growing like weeds! My thought is to pull the Asparagus ferns up and out and leave some space for these bushes, but I still don't want them getting too huge. Can I just keep them pruned all year? Do I prune only in the fall? Does it look like I need to move them since they will get really big? They are right by my front door...I'll post a second pic that shows the asparagus ferns in another post-I can't seem to post 2 pics in one post.
Thanks!

Comments (13)

• Alvan
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the 2nd pic showing the larger area...you can see the asparagus ferns and the size of the bushes I'm asking about.
    Thank You!

• saltcedar
    10 years ago

Wheeler's dwarf Pittosporum would be a perfect fit in that location. Unfortunately it looks like they used standard ones instead.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

Is that A-fern under the palm tree also?

• Alvan
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Purpleinopp-gulp. Yes A-ferns there too. In Florida they are considered weeds :-( Maybe replace both areas with more spaced out spikey plants, say a contrasting green color-I've seen some that are a pretty light green and white contrast on the leaves. (Again, don't know the name!) Maybe these as a replcement?