Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greatworld

Please help ID this plant!

greatworld
9 years ago

I am relatively new to the plant world, I previously thought I lacked a 'green thumb'. Having taken care of multiple multiplying plants for a little over a year now, I am totally hooked! I particularly enjoy buying half dead plants from Home Depot and watching as they come back to life.

Unfortunately I am now dealing with this situation with one of my favourite plants...being a new 'plant mom', I was unable to leave precise enough instructions when I left on vacation, and came back to the poor thing barely hanging on for dear life.

Since it was one of my Home Depot/Rona buys, I was never sure exactly what kind of plant it was, and I feel that now it might be useful to know so I can give it the best care and the best chance at survival.

I am attaching a picture of one of the two leaves that are left. It is a vine-type plant, with purple-y green stalks (stems? yes, I'm that clueless), and beautiful purple colouring on the bottom of the leaves. At the behest of my plant-loving boyfriend, I took one of the last leaves as a clipping, to see if it'll root so I can start fresh.

Apologies for the long-winded post, and thanks in advance for any input or advice! My name is Jen, by the way :)

Comments (11)

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

Looks like a Begonia. Search 'Begonia leaf cuttings' for propagation. I wish you could show the stem as that would tell us if it was a Rex or cane type. If a cane type you could use the stem for cuttings.

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    9 years ago

You said it was vine?

Begonias are not typically called vines.

Check out Cissus discolor ("Rex Begonia vine')

See link below:

Here is a link that might be useful: Cissus discolor

This post was edited by dave_in_nova on Wed, Nov 12, 14 at 9:44

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    9 years ago