Return to the Name That Plant Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need your help ID-ing this plant

Posted by nicknace MA (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 6, 13 at 12:52

Hello everyone. I saved this plant after the first frost at work - I work in a hospital and the landscapers plant tropicals like this outside, replacing them every spring after these beautiful plants die. In any case, I took this one inside and it's recovering nicely - growing like mad, in fact. I know nothing about how to care for it, so I'm hoping you can help me by telling me what it is so I can read up on it.

Gratitude.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need your help ID-ing this plant

It's a Canna.

o

Possibly Canna 'Phaison'

o

Do you have a basement or attached garage at your house? It's often easier to store these dormant in a spot like that instead of trying to coddle it in a pot inside through winter. Providing enough sun is usually the problem. There are many discussion for more detail about doing that on the Canna forum if interested.

o

• Posted by nelson 8 in Alabama (My Page) on
    Fri, Dec 6, 13 at 22:45

Looks like canna 'Phaison', aka canna 'Tropicana'. By either name you have a plant that will reward you with the most beautiful foliage imaginable next year. I second purpleinopp's suggestion to allow it to go dormant in a cool basement, etc.

Grow it wet or even in water & feed it generously during warm weather to bring out the best color in foliage & flower. And kudos to you for rescuing any plant, especially one that remains rather expensive, even here down South. Enjoy your new-found treasure!

o