Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
orrin_h

The coolest bird thing

orrin_h
17 years ago

From my front yard no less-I was having a smoke on the front porch and saw a falcon fly by. It joined another and the two chattered for a bit then flew back in my general direction, where one bird dropped an obvious prey item, which the second bird swept down and snatched up in mid-air very neatly. It was a pair of Peregrine Falcons, and the male was wooing the female with a gift of yummy bird. I've been birding for almost twenty years, and that was such a major first-I've seen all sorts of behaviour, but never the courtship stuff of falcons.

Today I saw a Prarie Falcon from the same yard, plus an Ash-throated Flycatcher, and two Phainopeplas (look that one up). I live in birdland, and I live here for a reason.

-O- (bird lover before orchid lover, and still lover of both.)

Comments (5)

• Driftless Roots
    17 years ago

Cool. Way cool! My co-conspirator and I dusted off the binoculars last Sunday and checked out a nearby nature preserve for the first time in the 20+ years I've lived here. Didn't see much but the usual waterfowl. The trails are urban and except for a couple of side spurs are pretty much jogging/biking territory. However, on the way back to the main trail from a blind we got a good look at some kind of weasel on the path! It was too big for a mink and too small for a fisher but I haven't looked it up yet. That was kind of a thrill.

I'd love to live where there are more birds than the usual urban mix. My parents live in the country on a lake and I counted over twenty species in just the few hours I was there at easter. We're planning on getting out more this year, right now even, to try to catch some of the warblers passing through.

• tuezday1
    17 years ago

Love has nothing to do with this, eagles will pursue osprey relentlessly hoping to get the osprey to release it's fish, so the eagle can catch the fish before it hits the water.