Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aachenelf

I think we've achieved a new record

aachenelf z5 Mpls
15 years ago

There are 22 post on the the first 3 pages of this forum with the word "phal" in the subject line. Not a criticism, just an observation.

I got a new orchid today, but it isn't a phal.

Right now the weather creatures don't know if this huge storm blowing in is going to be all rain, all snow or a mix of the two. 12 inches of the white stuff should fall about 70 miles north of me. It sure does get old by this time of year.

Comments (64)

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Gaston - I'll do a trade with you at some point. I love getting new plants that way.

Shady - I thought the shunning threat might knock some sense into you! Check out the hardy Calanthus, Calapogon, Pogonia, Spiranthes, Bletilla. I'm just getting into these, so I still have lots of reading to do. The nice thing about many of these is you can store them in the fridge over winter. I just took my Bletilla and Habs out about a month ago. They go outside for the summer. Easy as dirt.

Another plus: There aren't all that many varieties easily available in the US, so you wouldn't have to worry about things getting out of hand too fast. Of course you could always start importing plants from Canada or better yet start SMUGGLING plants from Canada. That could be kind of fun. Something to think about.

Speaking of aroids - my konjac as of today. I think it was blooming last year at this time. Too cold this year.
    {{gwi:134180}}

WC - That's a cute phal. Tiny pic though.

I'm not totally detached from the elections. I do listen and read, but I'm really trying to stay away from in-person discussions. Too frustrating, too frustrating...

Here's how a recent one went with my sister. I'll leave out names and pronouns so you won't know who I'm talking about. (Wasn't that clever of me?)

Sister: "I would NEVER vote for XXX. XX sounds too much like a preacher."