Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michigoose_gw

Monopoly????

michigoose
17 years ago

In the time honored tradition of incredibly hot summer days, I started playing a game of monopoly with my daughter and my sister-in-law. Both my sil and I remember days long games played outside when it was too hot to do anything else...

We were playing this time with the new fandangled Deluxe Edition monopoly and were amazed that when you had to pay money for inheritance tax or other "Chance" or "Community Chest" fees it didn't go in the middle for if you landed on "Free Parking." At least that's how my sil and I remember playing it....

Does anyone remember the rules? Does anyone know why this rule wouldn't be included in the new version????

Of course, the new version has some "suggestions" for short games, which take only an hour or so....so maybe it was a time factor...or maybe she and I are remembering a "folk rule" that someone made up in the Midwest...of course I grew up in Michigan and she grew up in Dayton...so......

Comments (11)

• Driftless Roots
    17 years ago

I don't remember the exact details of the rules "back then" although I recall once playing with a set that had wooden houses and hotels if that tells you anything.

This past xmas I knew there'd be some downtime with the fam so I picked up a set on the way to Grandma's house. That's how I discovered that my fourteen year old niece is a monopoly whiz. Apparently when she plays with her step-brothers they put any taxes, fees, etc into the middle of the board and whoever lands on Free Parking gets it. Then they throw $500 in for seed money for the next round. I remember doing something like that back in the day, but I also remember it not necessarily being a real game rule. Possibly a folk rule. It certainly does move things along and make the occasional free parker more able to gobble up the properties.

• varmint
    17 years ago