Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raptorred_gw

What to do with root rot? Newb here.

RaptorRed
9 years ago

I inherited some orchids along with other plants and have discovered many of them are in sad shape. I decided to take a look at the roots of 3 dendrobium orchids' roots. Yikes. I will include pics of all three, 2 pics each. They were in normal potting soil. Should I cut off these rotted roots? Try to air grow them? Leave roots on and put in bark media? You can see the first one has 3 roots that look good. The other 2 may be beyond help. I don't know!?! Im new to orchids and plants in general. Thank you!
Autumn

Comments (22)

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Don't mind the bandage, I cut the tip of my thumb off today making dinner. HAHAHA!

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dendrobium No. 2

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dendrobium No. 2 ( Looks like it has a very tiny new shoot starting..?)

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dendrobium No. 3

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dendrobium No. 3

• cooperdr_gw
    9 years ago

I would probably just let them soak for a few minutes and then just wash of the dirt. I wouldn't say that all of them look bad. I think they're really old plants though- that's a guess but I wouldn't really cut off much or any of them. Also the last one looks almost dead.

• jane__ny
    9 years ago

Number 3 looks like a gonner, although you can never tell, you might get a keiki (baby plant). The other two look fine and should grow. Repot in some bark and soak well. Then do not water again until the bark is almost dry. Give them good light and warmth and they should recover.

Where do you live. Information about your location, growing conditions, light etc. are very important to get help.

Jane

• RaptorRed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for your time!