Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glennftl

South Florida Cymbidiums

glennftl
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I just joined this group and have been reading the postings on orchids, especially warm growing cyms in Fl. I must say this is a very friendly group and being a newbie here I posted this through another forum. Thank you Arthurm for helping me with my mistake.

I have admired many of the pictures of members' plants, good work guys! I am particularly interested in other like minded growers in my area. I have had tremendous luck with the typical Miss Taipei, Nut, Elf, Chens Ruby, Maureen Carter, Butterball etc. However, I am now trying for more Intermediate types with richer colors and fuller forms. Several of mine are showing promise and I can't wait til they are fully opened in a couple weeks. Any feedback on sources would be appreciated. I have lots of beautiful "warm growers" to trade also. Thanks guys

Comments (20)

• arthurm
    14 years ago

Perhaps you mean Cymbidium Golden Elf, though there are lots of..... Elf in the RHS Database of orchid names.

Though i am not a Cymbidium grower i always look forward to it being benched late summer at the local orchid society.

Do you Australian Influence Cymbidiums ie those wth madidum, canaliculatum and suave as parents do well in South Florida? They are the ones that end the Cymbidium flowering season here in Sydney, Australia.

• glennftl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hello Arthur, thank you I should not abbreviate when it comes to names. Yes, I meant Golden Elf. I have found that most of my cymbidiums in my collection have an Asian heritage.

I would like to cultivate the Australian influence into my collection so I have seedlings of various crosses with Madidum, Canaliculatum and Suave parents but these are babies and I don't know if they will perform. However, most of the collection has Insigne, Ensifolium, Devonianum, Floribundum, Pumilum (again mostly Asian background)