Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
counselor4444

Help! Dying Phalaenopsis Flowers

counselor4444
16 years ago

I've had my phalaenopsis about 3-4 weeks now. So, I'm still new at taking care of them. It is sitting in a bright window (indirect light). I've been trying to water it only when it becomes dry... once a week. My home is pretty dry, so I also have a tray of rocks and water underneath it for a bit of humidity.

Now I see that some of the flowers are wilting up and dying. (but the green leaves at the base are fine looking). Am I overwater/underwatering? Or does it need to be fertilzed? Or could this the end of it's flowering cycle for now? Thanks!

Comments (5)

• jamcm
    16 years ago

I think it's the end of the flowering cycle, if the leaves still look good. While you've only had the plant for 3-4 weeks, there's no telling how long the flowers had already been open.

My recommendation to you would be to put in a slightly brighter window (it can take morning sun, but get it used to more light gradually), give it warmth, continue watering only when it's dry and you can fertilize, if you'd like. Be sure to fertilize at a quarter of the recommended strength on the carton. I'll also draw your attention to a culture sheet produced by the Canadian Orchid Congress, which I find useful for those of us who are in non-tropical zones and grow inside.

Julie

Here is a link that might be useful: Canadian Orchid Congress - Phal. culture sheet

• sweetcicely
    16 years ago

My recent experience on this is a little different from jamcm's.

While it is true that you may not know how long the flowers have been open, Phal blooms can last up to three months--sometimes more.

After noticing in previous blooming cycles that I would lose a bloom or two right after fertilizing, I have stopped all fertilizing while my Phals are in bloom.