Return to the Orchids Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
BLC has puckery leaves

Posted by poolia 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 10:50

This BLC leaves have become "puckery" as u can see from the photos. They were not that way when i got the plant about 2 months ago. It came planted in bark. Roots look fine. I'm giving it cat type care as far as light/temp/humidity. Watering when dry. Watered 3 days ago and thought the pucker would disappear if it was caused by the plant being too dry between waterings but it didn't. As i'm pretty new with this type of orchid i would love some help.

This post was edited by poolia on Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 10:56

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: BLC has puckery leaves

I find some of my Blcs like a bit less light than other cattleyas. That leads me to wonder if what you are looking at is sun damage. Did you move it quickly into very bright light? If that is the case, the damage is done and all you can do is move it back a bit from the light and wait for the next leaf.

o

Thanks for your advice Lisa. I didn't give them bright light until about 2 wks after I brought them home. Those first couple weeks I gave them phal-type light. The leaf color is great - the tip looks really light in the photo but it's not - bad picture.

o

Too much light/heat. Just short of causing necrosis, won't reverse but does no harm. The new leaves will be normal

Nick

o

I had this problem when my Catt's roots, unbeknownst to me, were suffocating in rotten medium. Eventually i did repot the plant, it languished for a while but then bounced back, produced healthy new growth and bloomed.
I might be wrong, but the young p.bulb in the background has this suspiciously dark color to it - in my experience, this can mean rot. In your case, though, might be simply a different color of the protective sheath on the p.bulb.

o