Return to the Orchids Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
bloom gone, can I bring orchids back to life?

Posted by nansaidh none (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 18, 11 at 11:47

I'm a newbie! I love orchids and have seven that have come and gone with their blooms. Can I bring these back to bloom again eventually? What do they require to do so? The ones I have are Phalaenopis orchids and are just nice waxy leaves at the base now. Any advice?
Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: bloom gone, can I bring orchids back to life?

• Posted by donaldb 5B Worcester MA (My Page) on
    Fri, Feb 18, 11 at 12:03

Hope this little bit of info will be of some help. First off here is a website with good info for you. Needless to say there are many,many more. http://www.robert-bedard.com/orchids/phal_culture.html

I have 9 phals all in bloom right now as they do every years for the past 7 years. It seems this is when they do their thing so to speak. Don't over water them and let the branch that the blooms were on die back then you may cut it. If it stays green there is a slight chance you may get another bloom but highly unlikely. Put them outdoors, if possible when the weather permits and come fall let them experience the temperature changes. This will cause them to put out spikes. All of the info you google up is good for what you need to know as I have found these to be he easiest orchids to grow. Happy growing. By the way I'm from Massachusetts.

o

Welcome to the addiction! Like Donald, I have several phals blooming now, But I have them blooming year 'round--I figure they are inside always, and therefore may not know what time of year it is, LOL. That being said, I used to cut the stalk back till my sister told me to stop, so I did. Now I cut back, leaving several nodes on the green stalk. This will usually send off a side spike which blooms, sometimes as nicely as the first, sometimes a bit less showy. As long as the plant is getting good nutrition I don't see the harm in it.

Good luck~~

o