Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ciee

Normal for Orchid?

ciee
16 years ago

Hi!, I recently receive an orchid from my boyfriend for Valentine's day, this is my first time growing an orchid. It is called Phalaenopsis Philippinensis, after receiving the orchid, i went online to read about orchid care. The website that i found say that a healthy orchid leaf is when it is light green but mine doesn't even come close. It look like this.

{{gwi:145989}}

So my question is: Is this normal? If not, what can i do. Also another question is that the flowers have wilted, literally all of them, they arrived that way.

{{gwi:145990}}

Should i cut off the spike? if so..where do i cut? Thanks!!! Catherine

Comments (5)

• gmgpk
    16 years ago

The leaves look perfectly normal. Some types of phalaenopsis have variegated or mottled foliage. As to the spike, yes, I'd cut it back. Snip it off about half an inch from the base of the plant. Welcome to the world of orchids.

• toyo2960
    16 years ago