Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mad_gardener

Beginner orchid light setup?

mad_gardener
11 years ago

Hello,

I am a novice orchid grower with a collection that includes several Phalaenopsis, two Cattleyas, and a Paphiopedilum. The light in my house is unfortunately very dim, so I am trying to find an inexpensive light setup (under $100) that will work for all or some of my orchids. Could anyone offer any recommendations?

Thanks!

Mad_Gardener

Comments (6)

• westoh Z6
    11 years ago

CFL bulbs and an "Octopus" lamp... Probably Here's a multi-lamp set-up from jane__ny (thanks jane__ny)...

{{gwi:144484}}

Good luck,

Bob

• Brandon Smith
    11 years ago

If your looking for a hanging/mountable fixture I would recommend something like this from catalina aquarium.

http://www.catalinaaquarium.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=71_136&products_id=1638

A bit over your budget but if you call them (ask for Jim) he will hook you up with a discount/extra features for free. He can build you any kind of light you want (whatever length, however many bulbs within reason, one switch for the whole fixture or a switch for every single bulb independently).

I own many fixtures from CA that I lit very densely planted aquariums with. These fixtures are noting like the fixtures at Lowes/HD. They have highly polished individual reflectors that easily double if not triple the output of traditional fixtures. Been running one of their lights for about 5-6 years ~9 hours per day, over a fish tank, been dropped more times than i care to admit to and have still not had a single failure of components.

T5ho bulbs/fixtures run cooler than pc (power compact) fluorescent fixtures, have a longer useable bulb life, have about any color of light (K rating) and are relatively inexpensive. Just to put it in perspective, the entire fixture below (3x24w or 72w total power draw) uses about as much energy as one of the 100w incandescent comparable spiral pc bulbs! ;)