Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie389

Advice needed on Zygopetalum

newbie389
10 years ago

Help! My friend just gave me a Zygopetalum orchid and I'm not familiar with this type of orchid since I've only grown Phalaenopsis orchids. Any advice on how to alter my standard Phalaenopsis care for the Zygopetalum? I only have western facing windows. I've tried searching the web, but found conflicting information. Thank You

Comments (5)

• terpguy
    10 years ago

Newbie, what info are you concerned about that you find conflicting

• newbie389
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I've found conflicting information about light requirements and whether or not a terra cotta pot would be appropriate.

• jbw1984
    10 years ago

Hi Newbie,

I am not an expert, but I can tell you about my Zygopetalum that I've had for about 5 months, which is doing alright here in coastal southern california.

This is my most chill and least dramatic orchid that I have -- it just does its thing, it doesn't seem to care when I water it, doesn't lose leaves or do other adverse things. When I brought it home from the grower, the buds on its two spikes never opened, and I had to cut them off... but it has not shown any signs of trauma since then. In fact it is growing a new pseudobulb and new roots.

The light I give it is probably best described as medium; it is about 8 feet from two large south-facing windows and only gets direct sunlight for maybe 30 minutes early in the morning during sunrise. It is similar to the light that my phals that are spiking have been getting, maybe even slightly less light on average than the phals.

During the winter, I was watering it once every 10-14 days, but since it started growing a new pseudobulb (looks like a stack of leaves for now) in early february I have upped the watering, so now I water about once every 5-7 days.