Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
littlepeapod

First time orchids

LittlePeapod
10 years ago

I am completely new to the world of orchids and need advice for the care of my new purchases. I've always steered clear of them as they've been a world of intimidation for me, but I caved and bought 3!!! One is a teacup moth orchid and it's still in full bloom. The other 2 are oncidium orchids that are no longer in bloom, and were 1/2 off for $15 a piece, a good price I hope? The oncidiums look to be in 4" plastic pots. I made the purchases a week ago. I keep all 3 by my kitchen sink, which is a corner sink with 2 windows, a north corner and east corner window. I've put a tray of water nearby for humidity, and I intend to add pebbles to that tray and put the orchids on top, BUT I don't know how to pot or repot them? The teacup orchid's plastic pot came dropped inside a ceramic pot, so I could put that over a tray of water now.

Most of the bulbs(?) of the oncidium look plump with 1 or 2 that are plump with wrinkles? I have no clue as to the care of these 3 plants. How do I water them? I'm unsure especially since it's winter and 2 aren't blooming. What kind of care when they are in bloom or not in bloom? Can I mist them with water? Do I water from above or let them soak from below? What kind of lighting? etc. etc. etc...Thank you for any and all advice!

Comments (7)

• shavedmonkey (Harvey in South Fl.)Z10b
    10 years ago

I'll give a few thoughts. I learned by attending the local orchid society. There may be one near you. There is too much to say in this space and I also have poor typing skills.
    In general, orchids should be planted on the potting material, not in it. The orchid is not happy if it wobbles in the pot. Don't keep turning the pot. The orchid knows where the light source. Let it decide.