Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prayerrock_gw

new to orchids..advice please

prayerrock
14 years ago

Hi everyone:)

I am brand new to orchids, just got my first one couple days ago. I love it but know nothing about orchids. So can some one give me some advice as a beginer on what good care is for an orchid..also could some one tell me what a nice variety of mini orchid would be for a beginer..I wold love to get a couple more orchids but i need minis because of space. If some one experinced has one for trade and could walk me through care tips I would love that. Thank you for all the help.

Mary

Comments (10)

• aesir22
    14 years ago

Hi, welcome to the addiction known as orchiditis!!! We would need to know what orchid you have first...phal? dend? catt? It is worth reading up on all types you can on the internet to know what you are handling.

I keep all of mine in bark mix, and water only when the mix starts to dry out. If it is a phalaenopsis...the ones you see most commonly...they like indirect light (they dislike full sun). They like to dry out a little before rewatering but not by too much. Give it an orchid fertilizer, or a regular one at one quarter strength.

The flowers will fade and fall off. When they do, cut the stalk they are growing on (called the spike) about half an inch from the base of the plant. Get rid of it, give the orchid some time, and it will rebloom for you a few months later given the right conditions.

Could you post a pic of it? It may be worth putting on a gravel tray to increase the humidity.

• prayerrock
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi, thank you so much for the fast reply.

I was told it is a cymbidium orchid. I made a mix of miracle grow potting soil, orchid bark and perilite for it and i have been misting it twice a day..I watered it when I potted it. It is a well draining mix.

• aesir22
    14 years ago