Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pattio2_gw

Help - flowers and buds dropping

pattio2
15 years ago

This is my first attempt at orchids and I have one - lable reads P.LongPride Treasure. It is yellow with wine spots. I have had it one year and it has flowered twice before. It now has 24 buds or blooms on 2 different stems. I noticed that one bloom had fallen off well before it should have and 10 buds as well. What could be causing this? It is in a north west window and nothing has really changed over the past year. Up until now it has been extremely healthy. It has 7 large leaves and lots of roots coming out the top. Also today I noticed that the lowest leaf on the stem is turning yellow. I water thoroughly when it becomes dry and I fertilize about once a month with orchid fert.

Comments (5)

• vtandrea
    15 years ago

I'll attempt to answer some of your points although I'm new to the hobby myself. I have 14 orchids of various types. Is your orchid a phalaenopsis? I think the northwest exposure is probably OK because these orchids don't need particularly bright light. I've read that the oldest leaves do turn yellow and eventually fall off so I wouldn't worry too much about that. Phals can be watered more than other types because they don't have pseudobulbs to store water like other orchids. You might want to give fertilizer in a weak dose (1/4 to 1/2 the normal amount) each time you water. I believe buds or flowers dropping might be caused by a cold draft. Hope I haven't told you anything completely wrong. Good luck!

• jemsta
    15 years ago