Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
morningloree

Sobralia macrantha

morningloree
11 years ago

Hi,
I am new to this particular forum, usually post in Florida gardening. I have been investigating Sobralia orchids and wondered if anyone has tried growing them especially in Florida. They seem to be grown by some Caifornia gardeners, and i finally found some in California. I ordered a S. macrantha alba x sib, they are known to be rather large orchids that are mostly terrestrial and habitat is in Mexico, Peru, Panama and Ecuador. I wondered why is was not grown and or available in Florida, are our growing conditions not quite right?

Comments (11)

• toyo2960
    11 years ago

Sobralia macrantha is considered a "cool growing" species, which is why it's suitable for coastal California along with Cymbidiums. Here in California, I grow them under 60% shade (I live near the coast) with average daytime temps in the mid 70s to 80s in the summer. Night temps are in the low 50s in the winter and upper 50s to low 60s summer.
    Other "cool" sobralias include leucoxantha, mirabilis, Veitchii, xantholeuca and caloglossa. Macrantha can tolerate winter chill down to about 37 degrees F.

Warm growing sobralias (more suited to tropical, humid conditions) include: Sobralia bicolor, callosa, elegans, fimbriata, fragrans, powellii, and rosea.

Sobralias are terrestrial (so use a terrestrial type mix) and keep evenly watered. Needs good air circulation.

Possible reason why macrantha is not grown in South Florida is because it is a bit too hot. Same goes for its cooler kin.

You may want to try the warmer growing species. Or try macrantha as long as its "feet" are cool and moist. Give it some shade (in a shade house). If you have a greenhouse, then grow in a cool house along with paphs.

• morningloree
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi,