Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wish_gw

Home Depot Orchid Dilemma

Wish
17 years ago

Hi There,

Ok, I'm sure everyone has bought an orchid from Home Depot at one time or another. I just bought a mini-phal (doritis, I think) that was absolutely irresistable. I noticed it was potted in spaghnum moss but have never checked roots--I'm a newbie.

In any case, I bought it on Tuesday and when I came home from work on Friday, most of the 24 blossoms had fallen off. I consulted a girlfriend of mine and she said two things:

1. Often, you can get a flowering orchid at the end of its blooming cycle. Which means that that the flowers fell off naturally.

2. It could be root rot. Check the roots, she said. And I did tonight and about 50% of them were mushy while the other 50% were green and firm.

It appears to be a mature plant because, at close inspection, it had a spike that had been cut off in the past and it has 7 leaves--more than what I've seen. Also, I noticed that althought the leaves look fairly healthy, they are dark green. I've read that its a sign of lack of light. But the spike is also dark brown. Could this be just a specie thing?

In any case, my question here is: Should I take it back? Can I take it back and get it exchanged? Has anyone returned an orchid to Home Depot? And alternately, if I really like the plant (which I do), should I suck up and prune off the mushy roots, repot in bark (which my girlfriend gave me) and wait until next year to see if it'll send out another spike? Does anyone have any experience with this type of Phal?

I have never seen this kind of orchid before--it has got 7 branches off a main spike and the prettiest blush pink mini phal blossoms...

What to do?? I would love any advice!

Thanks so much,

Wish

Comments (15)

• salvialvr
    17 years ago

It almost sounds like it might be a Doritis pullchera (sp?)