Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_scott_12

My Fallen Phal

mrs.scott.12
10 years ago

I am an orchid novice. Last year, my husband bought me a small phal orchid for our first anniversary. We had to be out of town for a few months during the summer, so we left it with a neighbor and gave them pretty simple instructions. When we came back, however, the blooms had fallen off, the spike was withered and the roots were overgrowing the pot, some were rotting. Luckily, the leaves were still green, so I pruned the spike, repotted it and have been carefully monitoring it for the last 8 months. Two old leaves turned yellow and fell off, and two new ones have grown in, which I took for a good sign. But there's still no new spike and the roots are looking pretty rough. Is it time to repot it again? Will the roots ever heal? Is it time to give up? Any advice appreciated! Thank you!

Comment (1)

• arthurm
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here are a set of culture notes written for New South Wales, Australia so some interpretation is required, but they are a start. The Climate applicable to those notes is similar to parts of California.
    If you read the notes and give the readers here an idea of your growing conditions more detailed help will be given.
    There are some detailed notes about getting your Phalaenopsis to grow a new spike in the FAQ Frequently Asked Questions found on the top of this discussions page.

Ray’s Growing Guide ��" Phalaenopsis
    Phalaenopsis are a group of plants that grow in shady, humid conditions throughout the Asian tropics and extend into northern Australia. They are arguably the most popular group of orchids grown in the world today, being particularly popular throughout the United States and Europe where they are regarded as one of the easiest orchids to grow indoors.
    Temperature & Atmosphere Requirements: