Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisaggie_gw

An amazing day - found Ghost Orchids!

chrisaggie
17 years ago

Today I woke up and decided that it would be a good day to explore a new area in search of the Ghost Orchid (Polyrhiza lindenii). Misti and I have headed out many times with this goal in mind and have have always failed in finding this plant. Today I went out solo and found (by accident) a nice little slough that looked like a good place for orchids. I found the normal clam shell and butterfly orchids and then on a pop ash about eye level I ran into my first ghost orchid! It was only 4-6" across, but I was ecstatic! I studied the plant and took photos. As soon as I turned around to search the slough more I soon realized that there were many of these amazing plants all around me!!! I spend the next several hours admiring these rare plants. I took photos to share. Please don't ask where this location was. I am not willing to share this information due to the potential risk to these plants. I hope you enjoy the photos! We plan to go back out in a month or so and take pictures of the plants in bloom. I saw 3 or 4 plants today with spikes started!

You can find the entire set here: http://flickr.com/photos/mistilittle/sets/72157600156879820/

My first ghost orchid picture

{{gwi:159800}}

In spike

{{gwi:159801}}

{{gwi:159802}}

{{gwi:159804}}

{{gwi:159806}}

Comments (30)

• maggie
    17 years ago

Awesome!!!! I moved to Florida a year ago and have since acquired around 100 orchids, my most recent being a Ghost Orchid from Oak Hill. I doubt I will be able to get it to ever bloom, but hope to at least be able to keep it alive for awhile. Being that it is so very humid should hopefully make it a little easier than had I attempted this up north, I guess....