Return to the Orchids Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
moth orchid losing its leaves

Posted by tamij NC (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 11, 10 at 19:26

newbie here. my leaves are falling off all but 2 so far. this orchid has been fabulous. i inherited it and now the flowers are fading and leaves are yellow and falling. I think I may have it in too much water? I would love to keep the plant and have been told once it blooms it is over and done with?? i hope not. any advice? Thanks, tamij

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: moth orchid losing its leaves

There is a wealth of information on the net and complete culture notes that are way outside my typing speed.

Find some complete culture notes on the net that relate to a climate similar to NC.

Look up past posts on Phalaenopsis culture on this site. To find them just put Phalaenopsis in the search box on top of the discussions page.

At the foot of this post are some notes written for Sydney, Australia.

Still puzzled after all that? Come back here with more questions.
Phalaenopsis Culture

These notes relate to Phalaenopsis culture in the Sydney area. These orchids cannot be grown outside in the yard or in a shade-house because winter minimum temperatures are too low and some summer maximum temperatures are too high. These temperature problems plus low humidity mean that special housing to meet Phalaenopsis needs is required, or the plants should be grown inside your home.

Culture within the home
Finding the place to put the plant. Your plant needs bright light, humidity levels of about 60% and temperatures where both you and the plant will be comfortable. That rules out one place that is often suggested, the bathroom. Another place that is a not good is one of those small closed in sunrooms where dry winter air is heated and the humidity levels are too low.