Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deb_in_bama52

toklumnia jairak firm no35

debbie
10 years ago

hello everyone.
I'm new to orchids. I bought a toklumnia jairak a couple years ago, while in flower, and it has grown well but hasn't rebloomed. I read in the forums that light might not be bright enough, but it is in my bathroom next to a south facing glass block window that gets ample light. its in bark now, and gets watered about every other day (drains very well). any suggestions to encourage blooming? also, will this orchid grow on a slab? I am thinking of dividing it (if that's possible) as the pot it is in now seems pretty full. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I haven't been able to find much information on this orchid, in the forums or on the internet.
Debbie

Comments (7)

• arthurm
    10 years ago

Tolumnia are twig epiphytes and you must be on track because the plant is still alive after several years.

The essentials are free draining mix, underpotted (small pot) or grown on a mount.

I have 350/400 of the little beauties and peak flowering time here is late spring....The problem is I do not really know what is the trigger that initiates spike formation. Also your plant is probably a seedling (raised from seed) so there is no guarantee that it will be free blooming. Perhaps your plant has KOK35 attached to the name?

In any case I wouldn't be in a hurry to divide or repot or put it on a slab, because those actions might increase the time wait for a bloom.

Hopefully someone growing the little babies indoors will add to this.
    Apart from the free-draining bit they need light but not direct sunlight here at Latitude 33 South. Sunlight filtered by shade-cloth and dirty glass in summer. Cleaner glass in winter.

Gentle air movement is provided by a fan running 24/7.

Temps. Not sure what the optimum range is.

Here is a pic. of a small part of the collection.

As i said above you need advice from an indoors grower.

{{gwi:162925}}