Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_z5wmi

higher light or lower u-value?

lisa_z5wmi
12 years ago

I am trying to finally put in the lean-to greenhouse I have been dreaming of for ten years. I have a 30' x 8' south facing basement porch that is perfect. Now, I just need to decide what type of polycarb to put on the top. I grow mostly phals now, but that is just because they tolerate my low winter humidity. I also have cattleyas and various oncidiums, but would love to branch out a bit to some other stuff- maybe some vanda hybrids- you know the whole obsession deal..So my question is this; with a ceiling space of almost 500 square feet, and given that I live in Michigan zone 5 and need to keep the thing at least 60 F, do I go for the 16mm 5 wall Uvalue .33, but only 67% light transmission, or do I go for the 8mm Uvalue .5 with 77% light transmission? Solar gain for both are equal. I am really stumped here, guys. Please help me out!

Comments (9)

• westoh Z6
    12 years ago

Lisa,

Not a gh expert by any means, but logically...

I'd go with the 16MM. I think most people use shade cloth for south facing gh's??? so the 67% light would still be OK for almost all plants. The thicker poly will just help hold winter heat *and summer :-( * but still let in plenty of light.

Just to keep things rolling: Is it the amount of light or the heat/lack of heat issue you are contemplating?

Bob

• lisa_z5wmi
    Original Author
    12 years ago

It is both. I want to be able to bloom my orchids, but I don't want to use any more heat than I have to. I am sinking the thing two feet into the ground for insulation, and maybe using subterranean heating and cooling- all to use as little fuel to keep it warm as I can.. but all comes to naught if the plants don't bloom because there is not enough light.

• arthurm
    12 years ago

I'd seek help from the local orchid Society members.

Just curious, there must be a point where an indoor plant room with lights becomes the best option.