Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neilbeginner

A Quandry

NeilBeginner
9 years ago

I am new to this but have learned a lot. I have some Phals that I repotted from old, damp medium into new LECA with pots from the Hydroponics Store. Followed all their directions and inquired via email about this problem but never heard back from them, which is why I am appealing to this forum.

When I repotted, I found that the root casings were rotten and stripped (most of them fell off, attached to the medium) off the red, rotten portion. I transplanted, watered per directions and placed them on my back covered deck. This is a western exposure, so light lumens are low to medium until the afternoon, when setting/afternoon sun is direct.

However, I'm having trouble with my transplanted orchids. It might be due to the fact that the roots were so rotten, when I cleaned the roots of medium and bark, the root casings also came off, leaving very stringy roots left. I carefully nestled them in the LECA clay pebbles, added water to show the low-mid range on the gauge, and only fertilized a week after transplanting. I followed all of the LECA clay pebble washing/soaking.

Now, my orchids are outside (I live in Greensboro, GA), but under a covered deck. There's plenty of bright light, but not direct sunlight until the late afternoon hours (western exposure). The leaves are beginning to turn yellow, or wilt and fall off completely.

It might be that I don't have enough light, but it's hard to find a place outside (humidity is good) but with enough light, but not searing direct sunlight. I have attached some pics to show you what they look like.

Any advice?

Comments (7)

• arthurm
    9 years ago

You are talking (I think) about semi Hydro culture. Put Semi Hydro in the search box at the top of this discussions page to find. Maybe something in those long past threads will help.
    Most of the Phalaenopsis culture notes on the net relate to the conventional culture methods.

• ginger9899