Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommy115

orchid dilemma

mommy115
11 years ago

I just bought a Phaleanopsis in a tiny clear plastic cup (it says 3 inch but they must have been using a very short ruler...closer to 2 inch) that does have a drainage hole. It seems to be in sphagnum moss. There are some very healthy looking green roots and some that look totally dried out above the 'soil' line. The roots in the moss look very nice and I don't see rotting in the pot but I have not wanted to disturb it by taking it out of the cup until I got some input from you good people. (I'm new at this....I take that back, I did kill a couple orchids 2 years ago). It is blooming so beautifully that I hesitate to repot now but it is super root bound. Do you think I should wait to repot until after it is done blooming? I plan on using sphagnum moss. What is in my 2 recently purchased orchids is the moss but it sure seems packed tight. How tightly should it be packed? Also, I want to keep them on a kitchen windowsill as the light there seems very suitable. I don't use nonstick pans and actually don't cook very often. There is not much fat or oil in the air as I am on a super low fat diet. Is it safe under these conditions to grow orchids in the kitchen? Thank you for helping!

Comments (7)

• jane__ny
    11 years ago

Its really up to you. Phals grow quite well in Sphag as long as you don't keep them too wet. You can pot it now or wait. I'd wait and enjoy the blooms but you could repot as Phals take repotting quite well as long as you don't do a lot of root damage.

Don't worry about cooking oils, nonstick pans,etc. Won't bother them at all as long as they aren't being cooked!

Enjoy, and you can come back when you are ready to pot them.

Jane

• mommy115
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Jane...If I gently repot now will it be likely that I will lose the flowers prematurely? Also, how do I know if I am packing the moss too tightly?

• jane__ny
    11 years ago