Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
serenasyh

wish me luck, I'm sweatin' it...my instincts may be wrong

serenasyh
14 years ago

O.K. I hope to be an orchid grower and not an orchid killer, lol! this is my first year growing hybrid tea roses and have had incredible luck with them (2 of them I was able to rescue from near death to be blooming wonders)but now I am upping the amp with two orchids... I really depend on that grower's instinct but am worried about any mis-assumptions I am making... One of my orchids' spike has broken free from its "sheath" and its baby blossom buds are extending upwards...

I brought both to the nursery and told them that I prefer the bark, because of the online research and from what richardol at this forum advised. However, I was told by the nursery not! to transplant the blooming one and to pry apart the other's spaghnum moss away, exposing the roots and replanting them in 100% bark...They told me it was not! a good idea to mix the mediums...They told me definitely not! to repot the blooming cattalya because the bud may likely fall off...

However I chose to do what has worked for me whenever I transplant very young own root roses and baby bands... I know, I know, some of you may be cringing about this...

What has worked for me to ease transplant shock is to leave the old soil intact so that the plant can easily adapt... I took this principal and bathed/surrounded the sphagnum moss with the bark, leaving a significant layer of bark at the bottom of the pot and a very light layer of bark on top of the spaghnum moss... My thought was when that bark starts to break down, its composition would seep into that spaghnum moss allowing the plant to transition and get used to the bark...