Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jetson15

New to Forum

Jetson15
9 years ago

Hi everyone

My name is Alan and live in the Yorktown area in Virginia. I have recently started my orchid collection and wanted to hopefully learn some good techniques from those much smarter than I am about care for orchids.

I have started with mostly Cattleya species plants with a few Laelia Cattleyas which I liked. Few phals also. As you can see, I have gone with the "under lights" nursery. Conditions outside are too extreme in both the weather and the pests. Unless I find an orchid that likes living in a pest infested hot muggy swap which drops to 10 degrees in the winter, they will all have to live inside.

The plant to the left is my little Plumeria tree. It competes with my orchids for the best smelling flower award. (And so far is still the winner. :-) )

I am fairly new to orchids, so I hope to learn some great techniques to keeping them happy.

Alan

Comments (11)

• shavedmonkey (Harvey in South Fl.)Z10b
    9 years ago

The first thing is to join your local orchid society. Find The American Orchid Society (AOS) web pages. All locals are affiliated. You will be able to find your local through the AOS. Being involved with local growers is the best source of advice. There are unique components to your local climate. Also a variety of sources will unfold for you through the local club.

Good Luck

• James _J
    9 years ago

Actually, a hot muggy swamp that drops 10 degrees in winter sounds like paradise for lots of orchids.

I live north of you in zone 6 and I put everything except masdies outside in the summer. I also have a plumeria, some fruit trees and a few other non orchid tropicals and they all go out. There is something about being in the wind and rain for a while that the plants respond to. Bugs are a problem but I bet that even inside a few will find their way in, so no matter what you will have to find a way to deal with them.