Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caliloo_gw

First orchid - Den. 'Burana Green Star'

caliloo
16 years ago

What can you tell me about this one? Have I chosen wisely for a beginner?

I read the FAQ and have perused many posts here, but I am a complete novice at growing orchids.

Any photos you can share? MIne will bloom in the next few days and I can't wait!

Thanks in advance!

Alexa

Comments (11)

• arthurm
    16 years ago

You have a warm growing Dendrobium. As for the name it is either
    Den. Burana Green 'Star' or more likely Den. Burana Greenstar. Needs warmth, moderate humidity and good light throughout the year to do well.
    You should be able to find lots of complete cultivation notes via google.

• highjack
    16 years ago

Poor Alexa - first hosta, then daylilies and now your first orchid. You are a true plantaholic. Let me be the first to congratulate you on another obsession in the making. Enjoy your blooms, they will be gorgeous and last a long time.

What potting mix is it in? Give it lots of morning light, let it dry out between waterings and give it a good thorough watering when you do. Low nitrogen fert on a den.

Brooke

• caliloo
    Original Author
    16 years ago

ROFL Brooke!

Yep - you caught me! There really is no hope for me at all. LOLOL!

I have always admired orchids, but I had heard they are really finicky and hard to keep happy so the thought of laying out big $$$ on something I would likely kill did worry me. I finally bit on this one at my local grocery (insert eye roll here) since it is so healthy looking and it wasn't expensive. It is potted in what looks like a mixture of peat and wood chunks, but I don't want to dig too far and mess up the roots.

Besides, I need something to keep me interested between the holidays and when the first hosta and daylily seeds start to germinate! LOLOLOL!

THanks for the encouragement and the info - I will certainly keep reading and post photos when it is blooming.

Alexa

• richardol