Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nickrosesn

Orchid Spots

Nick Rose
11 years ago

I'm totally new to orchids, so I need some help. The orchid has been under my care for a few weeks and for the last maybe week I have noticed black spots on some leaves and a few leaves have yellow tips. The orchid once a week for 30min gets a soak of water, when I say soak I mean I put it in a shallow diss of water. The water goes half way up the pot. It's at the top of the 2nd floor stair case and it has a south facing window.

What is causing the black spots and the yellow.

{{gwi:187133}}

{{gwi:187134}}

{{gwi:187135}}

{{gwi:187136}}

Comments (7)

• chilover
    11 years ago

I think you need to do more than set it in a shallow pan of water. It needs to be soaked from the top down. If you set it in water, it needs to cover the entire pot. What kind of media is in the pot, it's hard to tell from the picture. Also how close to the window is it placed?

Cathy

• Darlene (GreenCurls)
    11 years ago

It is hard to say exactly what is causing your yellow and black leaf marking. But i have a couple of guesses.

The yellowing leaf tips may be related to your watering habits. Like Cathy said, your orchid needs more than a soak half way up the pot. You should consider flushing the pot out from the top to water it. Also depending on the orchid, your growing conditions, and the potting mix, you may need to water more often than once a week. It looks like you may have some shriveling pseudobulbs. This along with the yellowing leaf tips could suggest that your orchid is not consistently getting enough water.

The small black spots are likely from sun exposure. Some orchids are predisposed to developing black spots at higher light. These small black spots are not much to worry about. If you are concerned about them, moving the orchid further away from the window should keep new ones from forming.

I am sure more experienced others will also assist you.

• Nick Rose
    Original Author