Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

how to make it flower

v1rt
14 years ago

Good evening folks. My orchid's flowers dropped more than a month ago. How do I make them flower again?

I just water it deeply one time per week. I've been doing this for more than 4 months now. The leaves are all very healthy. It actually has one new leaf.

I've never put any fertilizer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (5)

• sakeofsilence
    14 years ago

Sometimes an orchid needs a full year to reflower, sometimes it will go 2x a year, etc.

Often times, it seems peoples orchids in home do not flower because low light.

• richardol
    14 years ago

This is a Phaleanopsis?

• donaldb
    14 years ago

What type of orchid is it. Depending on conditions I've had dendrobiums flower as many as three times in under a year. Phals a couple of times a year. It all depends on the conditions, temps, and fertilizers being used. Then again I have a couple of Phragmepediums that are perfectly healthy, that flowered only once and no matter what I do...........no flowers. Orchids are challenging and fun. Good Luck!

• greenfingernail
    14 years ago

Firstly, Patience! We are not owed a flower every year or twice a year by every orchid! Treat the flower absolutely as a gift from nature, from god, from whatever good karma that exists in your life! :)

Secondly, I'd been told keeping the orchid a little dry would stimulate it to flowering - (works something like a genetic alarm system telling it to be productive??)

Third, fertilizing while keeping things dry instinctively sounds detrimental to some part of the plant somewhere along the way, as there'd be a buildup of fertilizer resulting in reverse osmosis (read tapla's soil treatise in the container gardening forum); I generally wash the plant thoroughly to clean off fertilzer residue from previous feeds, before a new feed - and as they say 'weakly, weekly', which I drag out to bimonthly or so - during winter even less.