Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindseylu_gw

Advice, please -- new orchid growing roots in air!

lindseylu
16 years ago

Hello!

I am new to orchids and was given a hybrid from a friend. I do not know the type -- sorry, there were no tags on the plant -- but it had beautiful, delicate spidery-like orange blooms. The flowers are now spent and the plant is growing what looks like white roots halfway UP the plant in the air! Does this mean that I should separate the plant where the roots are and pot the new one? If so, how would that be done safely? Or is the plant telling me something else?

Thank you in advance for any advice you can give!

Lindsey :)

Comments (22)

• richardol
    16 years ago

Is it something like this?
    {{gwi:193402}}

Does the plant seem to be growing up out of the pot?

• lindseylu
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hello and thanks for your quick reply, richardol!

No, the orchid flowers I had were much smaller with shorter petals, alhtough the colors are identical. Sorry I don't have any photos of it. The plant is *not* growing out of the pot; it literally has white roots shooting out of the leaves about halfway up the plant, as if it is splitting off and forming a new plant! What a mystery! Do I cut it off below the roots and start a new plant?

Thanks!

• jamcm
    16 years ago

Hi Lindsey,

How about posting a picture of your plant as it is now? It would go a long way to helping us identify what's going on and the type of orcid you have.

Julie

• mehitabel
    16 years ago

Growth habit sounds like an epidendrum to me. See link below

Here is a link that might be useful: epidendrum

• lindseylu
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, all, for offering to help! I took a picture of the orchid plant and the "air roots". The URL is:

http://picasaweb.google.com/wenchbeth/OrchidWithAirRoots/photo#5106479274828447650

Any advice is welcome! Thank you! :):

• wetfeet101b
    16 years ago