Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
astridc_gw

brown spots on phal leaves - Help needed!!

astridc
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie with orchids. I bought my first one around 4 weeks ago- a phalaenopsis with purple flowers (and I love it so much!!!) I bought it already in bloom, with 2 flower stems.

I have noticed recently that some brown small spots have appeared on the bottom of one of the leaves, on the outer rim of the leaf. This particular leaf sits upright with the spotted bottom side facing the window.

What could have caused this? what am I doing wrong?

I am growing it on a closed balcony, north facing but well lit as I live in a high building, on the 10th floor.

Temperature was high until the end of August 71 F at night, 85-90F at day. Now in September it's getting colder, 53F at night and 62-65F at day. Eventually I am thinking of moving it indoors as it's getting colder.

I have been watering it every other day by dipping the pot in a bowl of tap water and then letting the excess water drain from the pot. Adittionally I spray the plant with water.

For one week when I was away, it did not receive any water as my sister forgot to water it and one of the leaves turned yellow and dried out, some of the unopened buds also dried :-(

What could have caused the spots? am I doing smth. wrong? too little light? too much/little water? Any help from you experts much appreciated!!!

thanks a lot!

Astrid

Comments (12)

• richardol
    16 years ago

Cut back on the watering and bring it in. 53 is already too cold for Phals to do well and watering once a week is healthier for them than what you are describing. In fact, it is possible that the roots have rotted already.

Get a #2 pencil and, after a week of no water, push it down the inside edge of the pot. Give it a twist and see how wet the wood is. Do this daily for awhile until the pencil is only a little moist. Then water really well.