Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbi_gw

What to do after bloom?

newbi
16 years ago

Well, my orchid was beautiful when in bloom. Bloomed twice - first time about five blooms and second flush was two blooms. Now what??? Haha. This is my first orchid. I bought it when in bloom. Now I just have this tall, straight stem. What is the next step? I presume I should be able to get it to bloom again but not sure how. Do I need to trim the stem? I am a TOTAL BEGINNER! Any help apprecitaed.

Lisa

{{gwi:194975}}

Also, can I trim those roots or do they have to stay and I plant up to a bigger pot?

Comments (15)

• arthurm
    16 years ago

You need to find some complete cultivation notes that relate to growing conditions in Canada. Just google Phalaenopsis, growing or Phalenopsis, cultivation. There is lots of useful information to be found by just reading past Phalaenopsis threads on this forum. Put Phalaenopsis in the Search box at the top of the discussions page.

Cut the spike down to the base, do not repot, do not cut off the aerial roots or fiddle with the orchid in any way. Just apply good culture till next spring and monitor progress. The plant looks fine though perhaps it needs a little bit more light because the leaves are a deeper green than optimum. Good luck.

• t_bred
    16 years ago

I agree with Arthurm as far as the leaf color but it ends there. Too often, people are put off on this forum told to go read a book. Not everything you read is applicable in your situation. Why are people here if they seem so insulted by people asking for advice? Your plant looks okay for the moment but the leaves are dark(needs more light) and they do look a little floppy. I see there is a clear pot inside the other so you could take a picture of the clear pot and maybe we could see what is going on below.Could be underwatered, could be overwatered but no one can take an educated guess from your picture or a book.

• arthurm
    16 years ago