Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drjboulder

Re-potting Phalaenopsis while in bloom

Drock
11 years ago

While I am well versed in general houseplant care, I am new to Orchids. I could not resist the deal that HD had on Orchids. Of course the Phal that I purchased was potted in Sphagnum moss in one of those plastic pot inserts. I am not a fan of the way Sphag retains moisture and would rather re-pot in a mix of fir bark, charcoal, medium grade Perlite and a pinch of Sphagnum.

The consensus seems to be not to re-pot Orchids in general while in bloom. However, there seems to be mixed opinions on re-potting Phalaenopsis Orchids while in bloom.

My Phal is in bloom and the roots look very healthy. I could wait until a more appropriate time to re-pot. But, I am concerned about root health if I keep it in Sphag. It is mid September, temps here in Boulder, Co are in the low 80s- upper 70s. My Phal gets filtered eastern sunlight and supplemental fluorescent. It looks to be healthy in all respects. What are the risks of re-potting at this time? How likely am I to lose the blooms if I re-pot now?

Thanks!

D Rock

Comments (12)

• toyo1960
    11 years ago