Return to the Orchids Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Re-potting Phalaenopsis while in bloom

Posted by Drock CO (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 15, 12 at 15:44

While I am well versed in general houseplant care, I am new to Orchids. I could not resist the deal that HD had on Orchids. Of course the Phal that I purchased was potted in Sphagnum moss in one of those plastic pot inserts. I am not a fan of the way Sphag retains moisture and would rather re-pot in a mix of fir bark, charcoal, medium grade Perlite and a pinch of Sphagnum.
The consensus seems to be not to re-pot Orchids in general while in bloom. However, there seems to be mixed opinions on re-potting Phalaenopsis Orchids while in bloom.
My Phal is in bloom and the roots look very healthy. I could wait until a more appropriate time to re-pot. But, I am concerned about root health if I keep it in Sphag. It is mid September, temps here in Boulder, Co are in the low 80s- upper 70s. My Phal gets filtered eastern sunlight and supplemental fluorescent. It looks to be healthy in all respects. What are the risks of re-potting at this time? How likely am I to lose the blooms if I re-pot now?
Thanks!
D Rock

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Re-potting Phalaenopsis while in bloom

Phals. are generally not affected by re-potting when in bloom. If you are afraid to keep it in sphag. because of your growing conditions, then go ahead & re-pot it. I have done it many times without loosing blooms. Since you will be moving to bark, just be sure you do not let it get too dry. It sounds like you have it in a good location. Good luck - you've started an addiction.

o