Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tim45z10

Rescued orchid

tim45z10
9 years ago

Help me save this orchid. I know very little.
Thank you
Tim

Comments (13)

• charles1979
    9 years ago

Tim I'm no expert, but the leaf growing sideways to the right looks pretty nice. Make sure those roots get good drainage and airflow. If you haven't repotted the plant maybe it's a good idea to do so. I have about 7 orchids that I am re growing in bark and 2 that are in moss, The ones in Bark are growing new leaves and roots. I have posted pics on other posts, and the ones in moss are more recent since the flowers fell off and ironically a new spike is growing off a node (will upload pic on another post). I hope this helps.. Good luck..

• nuts2
    9 years ago

Hi Tim, that new growth looks good and as Charles sais it should be repotted. If you soak the plant in a bucket of water for about an hour before you remove it from the existing pot, the roots will be soft and pliable to work with. Looks to me with all the roots on top it is either very pot bound or looking for a drier medium. I would agree bark is good (make sure the bark has been thoroughly soaked for days in fresh water changing it 3 times to remove all tannin before using it). When the plant is out the pot you can trim the roots off the old backbulbs with no leaves, then put into same size pot with the old bulbs against the side of the pot leaving space for the new growth to flourish and put down new roots. Good luck!

• tim45z10
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you. It was repotted. Am I supposed to soak the bark as described for all repotting?

• nuts2
    9 years ago