Return to the Orchids Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Propagation?

Posted by meg_91 81201 (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 19, 09 at 17:04

Can you propagate oncidiums? If so...how?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Propagation?

They are no different than any other orchid - reproduction is by seed - division of miri clone

o

"division of miri clone"....????huh????

Couple different ways:
1. Division, simply breaking apart a large plant into smaller plants

2. By seed, as jerry said...requires sterile conditions.

3. Mericloning: taking a meristem from a plant and dividing it many times over so you can get thousands of identical plants cheaply and quickly.

For most hobbiests, only the dividing is really feasible.

o

I'm really new to this, having only purchased my first orchid in May. I've looked into propagation by seed, and decided it wasn't worth it for me...I might try it later if I get hooked on growing orchids, but I haven't reached that point yet. Honestly, they're growing more tempting every day, but I like to think that I'm the one in charge - not my plants! :P So I have a couple questions: What is a meristem? And if you go by division, how do you know when the plant is ready to divide, and how do you divide it so as to cause the least damage to the original plant?

Thanks so much!

Meg

o

A meristem is tissue culture and is used to produce many copies of (usually) quality orchids. Not for the hobby grower as you need special equipment.

Do not be in a hurry to divide your plant as too small a division will take longer to recover and bloom.

What is the name of your Oncidium? A good sized divison might be the growing lead and four or five pseudobulbs behind that lead. Most growers pot on to a certain sized pot before dividing the plant and starting again in a smaller sized pot.

o