Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
digitalphrag

The Orchid Forum

digitalphrag
13 years ago

Just wanted to say that the Orchid Forum seems to be one of the most friendly and helpful of the Garden Web plant forums towards beginning growers. Wonder why that is?

I won't be naming names, but when I go to some other of the forums and ask a total newbie question, I feel lucky to get any kind of response at all, and I noticed I'm not the only one. When I do get a reply (or at most two)it's never very helpful.

On the orchid forum, though, I see us almost always doing a good job of welcoming newbies, giving them sage advice (even if we sometimes offer contradictory opinions on certain things), providing external links, and things like that.

So, I wonder what the difference is? Is it that there are just more of us using the orchid forum, thus more people responding to posts? Is it that we're just friendlier folks? Any ideas?

Comments (6)

• whitecat8
    13 years ago

Hi Digitalphrag,

The purpose of this forum is to exchange information about orchids, rather than compare positive and negative aspects of various GW forums and their members.

In my opinion, starting down that road would defeat our purpose and leave less time and energy for, as you put it so well, "almost always doing a good job of welcoming newbies, giving them sage advice (even if we sometimes offer contradictory opinions on certain things), providing external links, and things like that."

WC8

• ginnibug
    13 years ago

I agree, we are very nice and agreeable, aren't we? I love US!!! LOL I also love Slippertalk and Slipper Orchid Forum. Does anybody have any idea what OSF would be? What other orchid forums do you like? ginnibug

• gardenbear1
    13 years ago