Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
forapple

Newbie found new love (Vanda & Catt), need help!

forapple
13 years ago

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to orchid growing so I'm hoping you could help me. I kept a few phals in the past, but couldn't get them to rebloom, mostly due to the lack of light and too much water. Later I had to let them go.

Two weekends ago I stopped by an orchid shop at my local farmers market to pick up something for my friend who just had a surgery and found that they carry a few Vandas. I was so excited and couldn't resist. The tag on the one I got says V. Pure's Wax 'Violet Blue'. I water and hang it under my covered porch (south facing) before I leave for work and move it inside at night as the seller suggested (except I mist it and then hang it inside the bathroom, hoping doing this would help with the humidity).

Then last weekend I dropped by the same orchid shop again and this time I saw a few Cattleyas and just love how lovely they smell. The seller said it's easier than the Vanda so again one went home with me. The name on the tag is BLC Goldenzelle 'Lemon Chiffon'. The seller said keep it inside and water once a week. Currently, I don't have a good set up yet so I put it on the window sill (north-facing).

Since I've failed in the past, I don't want to kill my new lovely orchids. I started reading and saw the threads about keeping Vanda in a vase which I want to try since it is getting cold outside. I think my main problem is lighting as my only south-facing window is under the cover behind the front porch (you can see from the pics).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/forapple/5097878771/in/photostream/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/forapple/5097878823/in/photostream/