Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
val1_gw

Can This Orchid Be Saved?

val1
9 years ago

I was given this orchid by an individual working at a florist shop. They were going to throw it away, so she gave it to me. Can it be saved? I do very well with Phals but have never had one of these. I hear they are difficult. It was so dry when I recieved it, I gave it a good soak. Now what do I do with it?

{{gwi:202585}}

{{gwi:202586}}

Comments (11)

• theloyalplum
    9 years ago

From my experience, most orchids can be saved bar massive amounts of rot. I'm not a dendro expert, but I wouldn't give up on it quite yet! Think of it as a challenge!

• arthurm
    9 years ago

A Big Challenge. It is a warm growing Hard Cane Dendrobium, See if you can find some complete culture notes on the net to give you some idea of its needs.
    Plant is in poor condition so it might be a difficult exercise.

• berkeleysgr8
    9 years ago

When you repot it, it may be beneficial to put a loose plastic bag over the plant to assist in keeping the humidity higher while it regrows a decent root system. I think it's worth a shot at saving!

• arthurm
    9 years ago

Canadian orchid congress notes say "easy to grow" Lol.
    I've put them in the link.

Here is a link that might be useful: Phal Type Dendrobium notes

• chilover
    9 years ago