Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
posenite

Epsom salts

posenite
12 years ago

I was wondering if anyone here uses Epsom salts as fertilizer for your orchids. If so how much and how often do you use it. Also do you mix it with your fertilizer or apply it by itself? I have been having good luck with most of my plants but cannot seem to get my Lady Slippers to bloom. I have 2 Phrags.and 2Paphs. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments (14)

• orchidnick
    12 years ago

I have 2 types of plants, the backyard ones who get watered with tap water and the GH plants who get RO and special care. For the outside ones I add a handful of Epsom salts to a 80 gallon mix once a week. 2 major Cymbidium growers in our area do this, I just follow their lead. I have been doing it for many years so have no way of knowing if it makes a difference, some people definitely think so.

I would be careful when changing the routine for Phrags, Paphs also but less so. I'm sure it has no influence on the blooming pattern of your Paphs.

Nick

• penfold2
    12 years ago

Unless you're seeing signs of a Mg deficiency (chlorosis in old leaves), I doubt that Mg is the problem.

Also, if you're going to add epsom salt to correct a Mg deficiency, then ideally it should be added in small amounts every time you water. Using a large amount to make up for infrequent use can upset the Ca:Mg ratio creating an antagonistic Ca deficiency. I say this because oftentimes you'll hear suggestions like adding epsom salt at a Tbs per gallon, which is way too much. I would try something like 1/4 tsp per gallon, which is probably very close to Nick's usage.

• posenite
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you both for your help. I probably should have made a separate post about the Lady Slippers. I don't think they have a defiency, I just must be doing something wrong. I'm about ready to throw in the towel.

• orchidnick
    12 years ago