Return to the Organic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Companion planting question

Posted by aznativenewbie11 Tempe 9/sunset 13 (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 14, 10 at 8:18

This is my first year in beginning my organic garden. I drawing out my plans for where I want to plant everything. I've purchased a book "Extreme Gardening" that focuses on gardening in the desert and has cross references the plants I should and shouldn't plant together. For the plants that shouldn't be planted together, what is a safe distance to plant them apart? For instance, it says not to plant Peas with members of the onion family, but a lot of the other plants and veggies recommend it. So, I am very confused on how to plan my garden. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Companion planting question

What's most important is that you grow a variety of plants in your garden, rather than large masses of one crop. applicable. Intercropping, a much better term than companion planting, is based on science and fact. Intercropping success relies on knowledge of how quickly the plants are likely to mature, their size, root behavior, nutritional and water needs, and more.

Much of what is written about companion planting comes from old gardening folklore, tradition, and mythology.

o

I wouldn't put 'folklore or tradition' into the same catagory as 'mythology'. I don't know a lot about bad-companion planting, but do know that radishes will retard the growth of tomatoes. Been there done that. I planted two tomatoes in different parts of the garden. One - alone in a large pot. Another in bed next to a small planting of radishes. The 'lone' tomato flourished, the other did not. I read somewhere [can't find the reference, sorry] about the effect of radishes and pulled them all out. That tomato started to gain, but never reached the size & production of the 'lone' plant.

Hope this helps.

o