Return to the Organic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Garden

Posted by debwhite0215 Florida (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 1, 14 at 2:57

Im brand new to this OrganicGardening and I have alot of questions to be answered, I need to know what I can do asfar as Pesticide all natural I curently have been using a mixture Im making myself out of Garlic ground up to itsy bitsy pices so it does not clog up my large sprayer I also have been using a tablespoon of anti baterial dish soap also some Cayenne epper just a pinch or so and filling th reast with water and I spray every day the soil and the plants too sometimes I also use Tabasco sauce too.I have been seeing alot of Aphids crawling in and around the soilI did see someone sayinpg that uaing Lady bugs is anothr way of ridding of these pests too PLEASE HELP IM VRY NEW TO ALL OF THIS AND ONLY BEEN DOING THIS GRDEN AND THIS IS MY VERY FIRST TIME AND I ENJOY IT SO VERY MUCH BUT I WANT TO MAKE SURE IM OING THIS RIHT AND IREFUSE TO USE ANY CHEMIALS AT ALL I WANT THIS TO BE 100% ORGANIC

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Garden

Others will certainly chime in with good advice for you, but I'd say first off to stop spraying. Getting your plants wet every day can do more damage than any pests you might end up with. (can invite mildews to infect the leaves)

Just let things grow and see if anything starts eating them faster than you can. Hand picking is the most effective way to deal with a lot of pests. (the larger ones -- not aphids) If you do end up with aphids on your plants doing damage, then folks usually recommend spraying them off with a garden hose every so often.

I find that just leaving things alone for the most part, hand picking the bigger bugs when I feel like it (be sure it's a pest and not a beneficial!!) and being willing to soak my broccoli in salt water before eating it (to drive out the cabbage worms), I never have to spray with anything.

Your garden looks gorgeous, by the way!!