Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brightisland

what's the best way to store compost tea?

brightisland
12 years ago

I'm new to organic gardening and composting.

What I'd like to know is how to store compost tea?

I have a composting bin that collects the compost tea in the base - 5 gallons of it - and it's nearly full! Since my garden is not yet ready for me to start using it, I'd like to know if I can store it, and if so, what suggestions do you folks have about how to best do so?

Thanks!

Sara

Comments (17)

• myluck
    12 years ago

Just a curious question. What does your garden need to have to make it ready to use the compost tea?

• bi11me
    12 years ago

Read this thread first:

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/soil/msg0212493515336.html?74

About 80% through there is a discussion about leachates vs. compost tea.

What you likely have are leachates. The link below gives a very detailed description of compost tea, but the pertinent quote I extracted from it is this:

"The shelf life is short in high quality tea with active organisms necessary to attach to lead surfaces and not be washed off. In the research that we have done with 24 hour brewing cycles, after just 6 hours without any aeration, the oxygen levels are lowered by over 300 %. If the compost tea is not used within that time, aerate, agitate and add more food to the tea to feed the micro-organisms."

Here is a link that might be useful: Compost tea explained

• gunnersm8
    12 years ago

as mentioned above i dont think thats really tea.

that said, and my initial answer is "in the ground" thats where id put it, and thats where it would be naturally.

• brightisland
    Original Author
    12 years ago

myluck: You asked, "Just a curious question. What does your garden need to have to make it ready to use the compost tea?"