Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nca270

eggplant and flea beetles

nca270
13 years ago

dear all,

I like to grow different varieties of eggplants. Take so much trouble to germinate from seeds and nurture the small plants. They look awesome when they are indoors. The minute I put them out, I have flea beetles. I have been battling with them for last 4 years. Tried diff. things like Insecticidal soap, Neem(from green light not sure if it is the oil- it is sold in Lowes). But these beetles never give up! within a day my pretty plant is full of holes and they keep chewing the young tender leaves. Hence my plants don't do well at all after they are set in the ground. I don't want to grow them in containers!

I read about Kaolin Clay. Where can I buy it? Also any other methods to combat Flea Beetles?

thanks so much

Comments (25)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    13 years ago

I cover mine with summer insect barrier.

Dan

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

The first line of defense, for an organic gardener/farmer, is the soil. Plants grown in a good, healthy soil that is well endowed with organic matter and is evenly moist but well drained are less likely to attract insect pests. Intercropping, trap cropping, covering the plants with Floating Row covers are all other options that cna be used.
    The link below to an ATTRA publication may be of some help.

Here is a link that might be useful: About Flea Beetle control

13 years ago

Thus strikes the spam bot.

My soil is wonderful and if I don't cover I'll get flea beetles. Surely I'd get more if the plants were unhealthy, but come now.

Dan

• marymd7
    13 years ago

Like Dan, I have great soil ... but if I didn't do something about the flea beetles on the eggplant, they would leave only lace for the colorado potato beetles to finish off within a month of setting the plants out.