Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emmgus_gw

scale causing depression

emmgus
13 years ago

I've been battling scale for going on 4 years now, without success. I have been strictly organic for the almost 7 years we've had our house. I first noticed it (the evil scale) on my climbing hydrangea and schizophragma in the back and it quickly spread to my 2 other climbing hydrangeas. In doing my spring cleaning this year, I'm now finding it all over my yard - on other hydrangeas, viburnums, even on some of the tulip leaves! Sigh. I've been spraying w/ insecticidal soap, horticultural oil, hand cleaning, etc. I carefully clean up the leaves each fall and discard them. I've been trying to do everything I can at the right times. I don't know what to do any more, besides resort to a systemic. If I do that, will I destroy all the good bugs and worms in my garden? Just today I was cheering on the ladybugs and ladybug larvae that were winning the battle against the aphids on my cranberry bush viburnum. Would a systemic hurt them? I've worked so hard at my garden, and just when I feel like it's really starting to mature and look wonderful, this happens. I'm really feeling depressed. I compost, I recycle, I even have a reel mower! I feel like a failure. Any advice for me? Is there some magic potion that I don't know about? I need something that actually works.

Comments (16)

• west9491
    13 years ago

i'm not sure if compost tea would do anthing for it????

• anney
    13 years ago

May I assume you've seen the link below?

Have you tried all those suggestions, particularly 6., 7., and 8.?

Here is a link that might be useful: How to Control Scale Insects on Outdoor Plants

• borderbarb
    13 years ago