boba26

Growing vegetables in somewhat rocky/sandy/alkaline soil

boba26
9 years ago

Hello,
my prepared area:
http://s1056.photobucket.com/user/bobila1/library/

Background info:
i am new to gardening and i am trying to make my first organic vegetable garden, i am pretty sure the land is very alkaline because i tested with vinegar,

and it fizzled very strongly, the top of the land is sandy but after i dug in the land it seems alittle bit better beneath but still mostly sandy and alot of rocks.

here are all the photos the garden it self will be inisde the dug-in area around the 4 white pillars:

http://s1056.photobucket.com/user/bobila1/library/

i am planning to cover or mix it with organic compost i bought + later cover it with the wood bark you can see in one of the photos and maybe with lawn cuts.

the season here is at the moment is hard summer so it's very hot most of the time and the area is very sunny.

the winters include mostly occasional rains and most of the time only moderately cold.

now for my questions:

1. i have been watering it for about 1 week to let weeds grow before i put the organic compost and plant the vegetables, but nothing grows, how long should i keep watering it?

2. should i use those small water sprinklers or drippers at the beginning?

3. what other suggestions do you have, as to what to grow, how long to water each session depending on what method will be used to watering.

hopefully i provided enough info for answers, thank you very much!

Comments (7)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

>> at the moment is hard summer so it's very hot most of the time and the area is very sunny.

Hard time to start anything without copious amounts of water. Heck, itâÂÂs a hard time. Period. I would strongly suggest an airy mulch such as straw instead of a flat mulch such as bark or wood chips. Both can work well, but in your high temperatures you need insulation on the soil.