Return to the Organic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need Plants Fast-Growing with Strong & Deep Roots and

Posted by rugrunner9 TX zone 8 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 3, 08 at 14:58

For what it's worth, I am VERY new to gardening.

I am looking for plants that have strong and deep roots to loosen soil without tilling. The faster they grow, the better. Since faster-growing is important, that rules out bushes and trees for right now. Looking for vegetable plants, herbs, decorative flowers, green manure plants, etc.

The Japanese Radish (& possibly most radishes) seems to be a good one. Others that I'm not quite sure of:

Clover
Legumes
Watercress
Barley
Ryegrass
Alfalfa
Hairy Vetch
Hairy Indigo

When you are looking up the details of various plants, root strength and depth doesn't seem a priority characteristic to list. Can anyone confirm or deny that those on the list above have strong, deep roots? Any other easy-to-grow plants fit the bill?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need Plants Fast-Growing with Strong & Deep Roots and

How about Dandelion and Chicory- both edible and will grow anywhere and have long, strong roots. Comfrey is also a valuable herb that grows fast and has strong, deep roots. It can be chopped down several times each season and used for very fertile mulch.

o
Re: Need Plants Fast-Growing with Strong & Deep Roots and

From my reading online about green manures, the general concensus is that cereal crops, especially annual rye, grow the fastest and most extensive root systems.

Alfalfa is also said to be good for deep rooting but many of the sources I've read suggest growing it for two years instead of just one season.

Buckwheat is often suggested for rapid growth and production of large quantities of organic materials, but it requires warm day and night temperatures.

You may find a mix of a cereal and a legume to be worth exploring, it's a common practice in agriculture.

All the best,
-Patrick