Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrclint_so_cal

Who is growing Microgreens?

MrClint
10 years ago

I'm just getting started, but so far I'm really enjoying the results. A steady supply of organic seeds can be had in bulk from a local health food store, coco-coir from a local hyroponics shop is the medium, where I also picked up some 10" x 20" trays.

Right now I'm rotating four trays, reusing as much of the coco-coir as I can, and alternate planting radish, sunflower, and chinese cabbage. The list is sure to grow.

If you are growing microgreens I would like to hear from you. If you aren't, what are you waiting for?

Comments (19)

• MrClint
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes, the broccoli microgreens are excellent. I've bought them from Whole Foods in the past. I bought a seed mix from Botanical Interests that was very good, but was a little pricey. My tastes tend to run more toward the spicy greens such as radish.

You are right, they tend to do better in bright shade from a north window or up against a north facing wall. The photo above is of radish greens -- brought into the sun for the picture only. I also acidify my water with 2 T of vinegar per gallon of non-chlorinated water. The germination rates are excellent. What growing medium are you using?

• nc_crn
    10 years ago

I grow in 100% peat (quality peat that doesn't need washing/leeching out of salts/acids/etc). I have a rotation of 3 flat containers that rarely need medium replacement, but I replace them once a year or when they take on fungus gnats (only once).

Usually by the time I rotate the 3rd container back into rotation the peat is a bit dry so I dump the whole thing, wet the medium, and put it back in the container. You could probably get through without doing this and just do a bottom soak letting the water wick up, but sometimes it's so dry (especially during the winter with my gas heat indoors) that it doesn't fully expand to the edges.